tradition and experience in classic philately since 1925

PRESS RELEASE AUCTION PREVIEW MAY/JUNE SALE 2018

World-class rarities at Corinphila Auctions in Zurich (28 May to 2 June 2018)

An ‘Inverted Swan’ from the Australian State of Western Australia and a ‘Small Dollar’ of China are the outstanding items in the forthcoming Corinphila auction series, which will be held in Zurich from 28 May to 2 June 2018. Admittedly, to refer to ‘world rarities’ in philately can sometimes exaggerate the importance of rare stamps. However, this terminology is certainly appropriate in regard to these two stamps from Australia and China. Also, in addition to these two top-class items, collectors once again will find an outstanding selection of attractive philatelic and postal history material from all over the world. The auction itself will present, in five catalogues, the most comprehensive range of material of recent years - both in terms of the number of lots and the value of the material being sold.

‘Small Dollar’ – the ‘King’ of Chinese philately

The Chinese ‘Small Dollar’ has for decades been regarded by collectors as the ‘King of Chinese Philately’. It is a bright red Chinese revenue stamp of 1899, which was issued with a face value of 1 silver dollar in 1899 as a provisional postage stamp. The provisional issue of new stamps became necessary when the Chinese Post Office was taken over by the state administration from the customs authorities. This involved a change of currency from the candarin to the silver dollar, which was the clearing currency with foreign postal administrations in cross-border postal exchanges. A new stamp issue was ordered by the Chinese Post Office, but the delivery was delayed. They therefore resorted to provisional overprints on the hitherto unissued red revenue stamps.

After overprinting the first sheets, those responsible found that the value ‘One Dollar’ in Chinese characters was too small. The printing was stopped and a new printing with large Chinese characters was made. To date, only 32 copies of the ‘Small Dollar’ have become known, many of which are in museum collections. The few ‘Small Dollar’ stamps available to collectors have been hugely popular for decades, especially as in Chinese mythology the red colour of the stamp is considered the colour of good luck.

The copy coming up for sale at Corinphila has an exclusive provenance, that is, a ‘pedigree’ of previous owners. Until the 1930s, the stamp was the top item in the China collection of the famous American collector Arthur Hind. When the Hind collection was auctioned in 1935, the collector Adolphus Dierking of Shanghai acquired the ‘King of Philately’. Twenty years later, in 1956, the Dierking collection was sold by auction in London. Then in the 1980s, the ‘small dollar’ went via a detour to being auctioned by Corinphila in Zurich, where it was sold an unnamed Swiss philatelist. The starting price is now set at 300,000 Swiss francs. It will be interesting to see how much more a lucky collector will have to pay for this world rarity.

The ‘Inverted Swan’ – an icon of Australian-philately

It is not actually an inverted swan! In fact, the frame with the inscription WESTERN / AUSTRALIA / POSTAGE / FOUR PENCE was printed upside-down in relation to the central swan vignette. However, this was unknown even decades after it was first discovered. It was not until the discovery of the printing stones of the Western Australia Four Pence about half a century ago that it was confirmed that one of the stones actually had an upside-down frame, while the swans in the centrepieces of the stamps were all upright. But because for over 100 years the concept of the ‘inverted swan’ had become so well-known in philately, this remains the case today even with this ‘typographically’ incorrect name. To date, only 14 examples of the ‘inverted swan’ have been discovered. Half of them are inaccessible to collectors in ‘eternal captivity’ in museums and institutional collections such as that of the British Queen Elizabeth II.

Of the seven examples in private ownership, four are in one collection. The example which will be offered for sale at Corinphila in Zurich on 31 May 2018 has - as is expected with real world-class philatelic rarities - an exclusive provenance. Philippe la Rénotière von Ferrary probably acquired the most attractive of the seven privately-owned examples between 1890 and 1917. In the sale of the Ferrary collection as ‘war reparations compensation’ from the German Reich to France in Paris in 1923, E.H. Collins acquired the stamp. In the 1930s, the Australian world rarity was in the collection of the prominent French collector Theodore Champion. At an auction in Geneva in 1981, the ‘inverted swan’ found its way into the collection of an unnamed philatelist. After the death of the last owner, the heirs have now decided to re-offer this world rarity on the philatelic market. The bidding competition for the ‘inverted swan’ will begin from a starting price of 100,000 Swiss francs.

The auction at a glance

In addition to the two world rarities of China and Australia, many other international collecting areas are on offer at Corinphila. Due to the large amount of material the auction will take place from Monday to Saturday, over just one week from 28 May to 2 June 2018. There are five auction catalogues: in addition to the main catalogue of ‘International Philately and Postal History’ there are four special catalogues, ‘Switzerland Classical to Modern’, plus ‘Switzerland - The Jack Luder Collection III’, and also ‘Romania’ with the specialised collection of Eduard Cohen (untouched since the 1960s, stored in a London vault!). In addition there is a special ‘Australian States’ catalogue.

General collection of Germany from 1849

In the main ‘International Philately and Postal History’ catalogue there is, among other areas, a particularly high-quality offering of German philatelic material for sale. Over 400 auction lots are being offered, from Germany’s first postage stamp of 1849, the ‘One kreuzer black’ of Bavaria, to modern issues such as the unissued ‘Olympic Games 1984’ stamps of the GDR. This includes such top-class rarities of German States as an unused lower marginal pair of the ‘Saxony Three’ with a starting price 10,000 Swiss Francs and an unused corner marginal block of four of the ‘One kreuzer black’ of Bavaria.

Other highlights of the main catalogue

Other important items include Latin American countries with rare Brazilian ‘Bull’s Eyes’ of 1843 and a special collection of classical Peru, a special offer of Greece’s Hermes Heads, also France and over 130 lots of a specialised ‘Cape of Good Hope’ collection. But high quality and interesting offers are also available from almost all other countries. A look at the catalogue, fully available on the Internet, is definitely worthwhile.

Special catalogues

In the special Romania catalogue, the most important cover with the popular lithographed issues of 1865-1872 is being offered. It is the most important and at the same time the earliest recorded use on cover of the emergency issue of 1872, a 50 bani with the ‘King Carol with beard’ design. Three examples and an additional franking are used on the front and back of an international registered letter. Fritz Heimbüchler knew only of an old black and white illustration of the letter in his handbook on Romanian philately. Now it is being offered after 50 years as part of the Eduardo Cohen Collection. Starting price 40,000 Swiss francs.

In the special Australian States catalogue, the second part of the ‘BESANCON’ collection once again offers top-quality philatelic material, including the well-known ‘Inverted Swan’

Two special catalogues ‘Switzerland’ and ‘Classic Switzerland – the Jack Luder Collection’

Once again, Swiss material from the classic to the modern issues is of the highest quality. The top item is a ‘quartering’ of a Rayon II 10 centimes stamp used as 2½ centimes along with a 5 centimes Rayon I on cover, with a starting price of 125,000 Swiss francs. From the Jack Luder collection the title piece of his EDITION SPÉCIALE book comes up for sale, the ‘dream cover’ with the Rayon I light blue cancelled with the blue diamond of Bellelay, as well as an unused block of eight of the “Vaud 5” of Geneva.

Special viewing at NABA in Lugano from 17 to 20 May 2018

All single lots of Switzerland including the Jack Luder collection can be seen at the large Corinphila exhibition stand at the national stamp exhibition NABA 2018 in Lugano. This exhibition, which also commemorates the 175th anniversary of the first issue of Swiss stamps in the Canton of Zurich, will feature the most important Swiss collections that exist today. For any serious philatelist interested in collecting Switzerland, a visit to Lugano is really indispensable. However, a visit to the Corinphila exhibition stand and viewing the Swiss material in the upcoming auction should also be high on the list of priorities.

All the catalogues are on the Internet / Bid ‘live’ online in the auction

The complete auction catalogues are available on the Internet as ‘PDF catalogues’ (the same as the printed version) and as online catalogues with a handy keyword search feature. At www.corinphila.ch, those interested will also find many additional illustrations, including photo certificates, selected backs of covers and a large number of collections and bulk lots, all or parts of which have been included. For anyone interested who is unable to travel to Zurich, but would nevertheless like to bid directly at the same time against the room during the auction days, the proven system for online live bidding at www.corinphila.ch is recommended.

Further information and catalogue orders from: Corinphila Auktionen AG, Wiesenstrasse 8, 8032 Zurich, Switzerland, Telephone: + 41 (0)44 389 9191, Fax + 41 (0)44 389 9195, Email: info@corinphila.ch, Internet: www.corinphila.ch

Tradition und Erfahrung in klassischer Philatelie seit 1925

Pressemitteilung Auktionsvorschau Mai/Juni 2018

Weltraritäten bei Corinphila Auktionen in Zürich (28. Mai bis 2. Juni 2018)

Ein ‚Kopfstehender Schwan‘ des Australischen Staates ‚Western Australia‘ und ein ‚Small Dollar‘ von China sind die herausragenden Angebote der bevorstehenden Corinphila-Versteigerungsserie, die vom 28. Mai bis 2. Juni 2018 in Zürich stattfinden wird. Zwar sind Einschätzungen als ‚Weltraritäten‘ in der Philatelie ein mitunter inflationär verwendeter Begriff für seltene Briefmarken. Bei den beiden Marken aus Australien und China ist dieser Superlativ aber sicher angebracht. Neben diesen beiden Spitzenstücken erwartet die Sammler eine erneut herausragende Auswahl attraktiver Philatelie und Postgeschichte aus aller Welt. Die Auktion selbst wird in insgesamt fünf Katalogen das umfangreichste Angebot der vergangenen Jahre präsentieren – sowohl von der Losanzahl wie auch vom Angebotswert.

‚Small Dollar‘ – König der China-Philatelie

Der chinesische ‚Small Dollar‘ gilt seit Jahrzehnten unter den Sammlern als ‚König der China Philatelie‘. Es handelt sich um eine leuchtend rote chinesische Steuermarke aus dem Jahr 1899, die mit einem Überdruck im Nennwert von 1 Silberdollar im Jahr 1899 als provisorische Briefmarke herausgegeben wurde. Notwendig wurde die provisorische Ausgabe neuer Briefmarken als die chinesische Post von der Steuerbehörde auf die Staatsverwaltung übernommen wurde. Damit verbunden war ein Währungswechsel von Candarin auf den Silberdollar, der im grenzüberschreitenden Postverkehr die Verrechnungswährung mit ausländischen Postverwaltungen war. Eine neue Briefmarkenausgabe war von der chinesischen Post bestellt, jedoch verzögerte sich die Auslieferung. Deshalb half man sich mit provisorischen Überdrucken auf bis dahin noch nicht herausgegebenen roten Steuermarken.

Nachdem man die ersten Bogen überdruckt hatte, stellten die Verantwortlichen fest, dass die Wertbezeichnung ‚Ein Dollar‘ in chinesischen Schriftzeichen zu klein ausgefallen war. Der Druck wurde gestoppt und ein neuer Aufdruck mit grossen chinesischen Schriftzeichen wurde angefertigt. Bis heute sind nur 32 Exemplare des ‚Small Dollar‘ bekannt geworden, davon sind zahlreiche Exemplare in Museums-Sammlungen. Die wenigen verfügbaren ‚Small Dollar‘ Marken für die Sammler sind seit Jahrzehnten äusserst beliebt, zumal die rote Markenfarbe in der chinesischen Mythologie als Farbe des Glücks angesehen wird.

Das bei Corinphila zum Angebot kommende Exemplar hat eine exklusive ‚Provenienz‘, also einen Stammbaum von Vorbesitzern. Bis in die 1930er Jahre war die Marke das Spitzenstück der China-Kollektion des berühmten amerikanischen Sammlers Arthur Hind. Bei der Versteigerung der Hind-Sammlung erwarb der Sammler Adolphus Dierking aus Shanghai den ‚König der Philatelie‘. Die Dierking Kollektion wurde 20 Jahre später, 1956, in London versteigert. Über Umwege gelangte der ‚Small Dollar‘ dann in den 1980er Jahren schon einmal auf eine Auktion von Corinphila in Zürich, wo sie ein ungenannter Schweizer Philatelist ersteigerte. Der Startpreis ist jetzt mit 300‘000 Schweizer Franken festgelegt. Man darf gespannt sein, welchen Zuschlag ein glücklicher Sammler für die Weltrarität bezahlen muss.

‚Kopfstehender Schwan‘ – Ikone der Australien-Philatelie

Eigentlich ist es gar kein kopfstehender Schwan! Tatsächlich ist der Rahmen mit der Inschrift WESTERN AUSTRALIA / POSTAGE / FOUR / PENCE kopfstehend um das Mittelstück mit dem Motiv des Schwans gezeichnet worden. Nur hat man das auch Jahrzehnte nach der Erstentdeckung nicht gewusst. Erst als man die Drucksteine der Four Pence von Westaustralien vor etwa einem halben Jahrhundert entdeckte, konnte bestätigt werden, dass eine Position des Drucksteins tatsächlich einen kopfstehenden Rahmen zeigte, während die Schwäne in den Mittelstücken der Marken alle standrichtig, also ‚stehend‘ waren. Aber weil sich in der Philatelie seit über 100 Jahren der Begriff des ‚kopfstehenden Schwans‘ eingebürgert hatte, bleibt man auch heute bei dieser eigentlich ‚drucktechnisch‘ falschen Bezeichnung. Bis heute sind nur 14 Exemplare des ‚Kopfstehenden Schwans‘ entdeckt worden. Die Hälfte davon befinden sich für Sammler unerreichbar in ‚ewiger Gefangenschaft‘ in Museen und institutionellen Sammlungen wie etwa der Kollektion der Königin von England.

Von den sieben in Privathand befindlichen Stücken sind gleich vier Exemplare in einer Kollektion. Das bei Corinphila am 31. Mai 2018 in Zürich zum Angebot kommende Stück hat – wie bei echten Weltraritäten der Philatelie zu erwarten – eine exklusive Provenienz. Philippe la Renotiere von Ferrary konnte das schönste der sieben in Privathand befindlichen Stücke vermutlich zwischen 1890 und 1917 erwerben. Bei der Versteigerung der Ferrary-Sammlung als ‚Kriegs-Reparationsentschädigung’ des Deutschen Reiches an Frankreich in Paris 1923 erwarb E.H. Collins die Marke. In den 1930er Jahren gelangte die australische Weltrarität in die Kollektion des grossen französischen Sammlers Theodore Champion. Bei einer Versteigerung in Genf 1981 fand der ‚Kopfstehende Schwan‘ den Weg in die Sammlung eines ungenannten Philatelisten. Nach dem Tode des letzten Besitzers haben sich die Erben nun entschlossen, die Weltrarität erneut auf dem Philatelie-Markt anzubieten. Der Bieter-Wettstreit um den ‚Kopfstehende Schwan‘ beginnt ab einem Startpreis von 100‘000 Schweizer Franken.

Das Auktionsangebot im Überblick

Neben den beiden Weltraritäten aus China und Australien sind viele weitere internationale Sammelgebiete bei Corinphila im Angebot. Aufgrund des umfangreichen Angebots wird die Versteigerung statt wie traditionell von Mittwoch bis Samstag schon von Montag bis Samstag, genau eine Woche lang, vom 28. Mai bis 2. Juni 2018 stattfinden. Fünf Auktionskataloge liegen vor: Neben dem Hauptkatalog ‚Internationale Philatelie und Postgeschichte‘ gibt es vier Sonderkataloge ‚Schweiz Klassik bis Modern‘, dazu ‚Schweiz – Die Sammlung Jack Luder III‘ , weiterhin ‚Rumänien‘ mit der Spezialsammlung Eduard Cohen (unberührt seit den 1960er Jahren in einem Londoner Tresor lagernd!) sowie einen Sonderkatalog ‚Australische Staaten‘.

Generalsammlung Deutschland ab 1849

Im Hauptkatalog ‚Internationale Philatelie und Postgeschichte‘ kommt neben anderen Gebieten ein besonders hochwertiges Angebot deutscher Philatelie zum Verkauf. Über 400 Auktionslose von Deutschlands erster Briefmarke von 1849, dem Schwarzen Einser aus Bayern, bis zu den modernen Ausgaben wie etwa den nicht herausgegebenen Marken der DDR ‚Olympische Spiele 1984‘ werden offeriert. Darunter Spitzenraritäten der Altdeutschland-Philatelie wie ein ungebrauchtes Unterrandpaar des Sachsen Dreier mit Startpreis 10‘000 Schweizer Franken oder ein ungebrauchter Eckrand-Viererblock des Schwarzen Einser aus Bayern.

Sonstige Schwerpunkte im Hauptkatalog

Weitere Angebotsschwerpunkte sind Lateinamerikanische Länder mit seltenen brasilianischen Ochsenaugen von 1843 und einer Spezialsammlung Klassik-Peru, ein Spezialangebot mit Griechenlands Hermesköpfen, Frankreich sowie über 130 Auktionslose einer Spezialsammlung ‚Kap der guten Hoffnung‘. Aber auch von fast allen anderen Ländern sind hochwertige und interessante Angebote vorhanden. Ein Blick in die vollständig im Internet verfügbaren Kataloge lohnt auf jeden Fall.

Sonderkataloge

Bei dem Sonderkatalog Rumänien wird der bedeutendste Brief der beliebten Steindruckausgaben 1865–1872 offeriert. Es handelt sich um die höchste und gleichzeitig wohl früheste Briefverwendung der Notausgabe von 1872, eine 50 Bani in der Zeichnung ‚König Carol mit Bart‘. Drei Exemplare sowie weitere Zusatzfrankatur sind vorder- und rückseitig auf einem Einschreibe-Auslandsbrief verwendet. Fritz Heimbüchler kannte in seinem Handbuch zur Rumänien-Philatelie nur eine alte schwarz-weiss Kopie des Briefes. Jetzt wird er nach 50 Jahren im Rahmen der Eduardo Cohen-Sammlung angeboten. Startpreis: 40‘000.- Schweizer Franken.

Der Sonderkatalog ‚Australische Staaten‘ offeriert mit dem 2. Teil der Kollektion ‚BESANCON‘ erneut Philatelie vom Feinsten, darunter den eingehend erwähnten ‚Kopfstehenden Schwan‘.

Zwei Sonderkataloge ‚Schweiz‘ und ‚Klassik Schweiz – Sammlung Jack Luder‘

Auch diesmal ist das Angebot Schweiz von der Klassik bis zu den modernen Ausgaben von höchster Güte. Das Spitzenstück ist eine ‚Viertelung‘ einer Rayon II 10 Rappen Briefmarke als 2½ Rappen zusammen mit einer 5 Rappen Rayon I auf Brief verwendet zum Startpreis von 125‘000 Schweizer Franken. Aus der Sammlung Jack Luder kommt das Titelstück seiner Buchveröffentlichung EDITION SPECIALE zum Angebot, der ‚Traumbrief‘ mit der Rayon I hellblau gestempelt mit der blauen Raute von Bellelay sowie ein ungebrauchter Achterblock der Waadt 5 aus Genf.

Sonderbesichtigung bei der NABA in Lugano vom 17.- 20 Mai 2018

Alle Einzellose der Schweiz inkl. Kollektion  Jack Luder können am grossen Corinphila-Ausstellungsstand bei der nationalen Briefmarkenausstellung NABA 2018 in Lugano besichtigt werden. Bei dieser Ausstellung, die auch im Hinblick auf das 175-jährige Jubiläum der Erstausgabe Schweizer Briefmarken im Kanton Zürich im Fokus der Sammler steht, werden die bedeutendsten heute existierenden Schweiz-Kollektionen ausgestellt sein. Für jeden ernsthaften Philatelisten mit Interesse am Sammelgebiet Schweiz ist ein Besuch in Lugano eigentlich unverzichtbar. Ein Besuch am Corinphila Ausstellungsstand und die Besichtigung des Schweiz-Angebotes der kommenden Auktion sollte aber ganz oben auf der Prioritätenliste stehen.

Alle Kataloge im Internet / Online Live in der Auktion bieten

Die vollständigen Auktionskataloge sind im Internet als ‚PDF-Kataloge‘ (identisch mit der Druckversion) und als Online-Kataloge mit praktischer Stichwort-Suchfunktion verfügbar. Unter www.corinphila.ch finden Interessenten außerdem zahlreiche zusätzliche Abbildungen, darunter Fotoatteste, ausgewählte Briefrückseiten sowie eine Vielzahl an Sammlungen und Posten, die ganz oder auszugsweise erfasst wurden. Interessenten, die nicht nach Zürich reisen können, aber dennoch zeitgleich während der Versteigerungstage direkt gegen den Auktionssaal bieten möchten, sei das bewährte System zum Online-Live-Bieten unter www.corinphila.ch empfohlen.

Weitere Informationen und Katalogbestellungen bei: Corinphila Auktionen AG, Wiesenstrasse 8, 8032 Zürich/Schweiz, Telefon: + 41 (0)44 389 91 91, Telefax + 41 (0)44 389 91 95, E-Mail: info@corinphila.ch, Internet: www.corinphila.ch