tradition and experience in classic philately since 1925

Private Treaty - Europe Transit Mail to 1800

'Swords' - Mark of Leipzig PORT PAYE A ROM
 
An extensive research and study collection of European transit mail from the early 15th to the beginning of the 19th century. A total of over 900 covers document the various postal routes with many cancellations and surcharges from the early days of European postal exchanges across Europe.
 
► See more highlights of the collection here
 
► to the picture gallery
 
The collection covers the entire European continent, mostly in cross-border traffic such as Italy - France or Germany - France with the corresponding border post offices and exchange offices. Another major section concerns postal exchanges with Belgium and Holland as well as Switzerland, Scandinavia, England, Portugal, Spain, Poland, Russia and the Baltic States.
 
The collection at a glance
 
The collection begins with a letter from Venice dated 15 November 1421. The collection also contains a letter from the 99th Doge Francesco Molino (1646-55) and interesting letters from the famous Corsini correspondence. Also worthy of mention are covers with early transit marks of the 17th century such as D’HOLLANDE and D’ALLEMAGNE, or DE LOMBARDIE and DE SUISSE from the early 18th century. With the advent of the international exchange of mail, the plethora of cancellations and handwritten notes also grew and these are documented in this extraordinary collection.
 
Special mention should be made of some very rare postmarks such as the so-called ‘Swords’ mark on cover from Leipzig to Amsterdam in 1718 from the collection of Kumpf - Mikuli, the rare ‘B’ crown postmark of Sweden and the extremely attractive impression of the ‘PORT PAYE A ROME’ on a letter from the French Post Office in Rome to Toulouse (1770).
Most of the covers are selected items that have been purchased at auctions or from some of the most internationally renowned collectors. The provenances read like a ‘Who's Who’ of the great and well-known old postal history collectors: Manfred Jacques, James van der Linden, Hans-Ulrich Sieber and Paolo Vollmeier.
 
This unique collection with lots of background information, photocopies and the working documents of a proven connoisseur of his subject is for sale here! All the material being offered can be viewed by appointment in our office.
 
For further enquiries we are always at your disposal, either by telephone or just send us an email
 
A unique opportunity – price on request

Tradition und Erfahrung in klassischer Philatelie seit 1925

Private Treaty - Europa Transitbriefe bis 1800

Schwerter-Stempel von Leipzig PORT PAYE A ROM

Umfangreiche Forschungs- und Studien-Sammlung über die europäische Transitpost vom frühen 15. bis zum Beginn des 19. Jahrhunderts. Insgesamt über 900 Briefe dokumentieren die verschiedenen Postrouten mit zahlreichen Abstempelungen und Taxierungen aus der frühen Zeit des europäischen Postverkehrs quer durch ganz Europa.

► Weitere Highlights der Sammlung

► zur Bildergalerie

Die Sammlung umfasst den ganzen europäischen Kontinent meist im grenzüberschreitenden Verkehr wie Italien – Frankreich oder Deutschland – Frankreich mit den entsprechenden Grenzpostämtern und Austauschbüros. Eine weitere grosse Sektion betrifft den Postverkehr mit Belgien und Holland sowie Schweiz, Skandinavien, England, Portugal, Spanien, Polen, Russland und den baltischen Staaten.

Die Sammlung im Überblick

Die Sammlung beginnt mit einem von Brief von Venedig, datiert 15. November 1421. Weiter enthält die Sammlung einen Brief des 99. Dogen Francesco Molino (1646/55) und interessante Briefe aus der bekannten Corsini - Korrespondenz. Zu erwähnen sind auch die Belege mit frühen Transitvermerken aus dem 17. Jahrhundert wie D’HOLLANDE und D‘ALLEMAGNE oder DE LOMBARDIE und DE SUISSE aus dem frühen  18. Jahrhundert. Mit dem Aufkommen des internationalen Postverkehrs wächst auch die Vielzahl an Abstempelungen und handschriftlichen Vermerken, welche in dieser aussergewöhnlichen Sammlung dokumentiert sind.

Hervorzuheben sind die sehr seltenen Stempel wie zum Beispiel der sog. ‚Schwerter‘ – Stempel auf Brief von Leipzig nach Amsterdam (1718) aus der Sammlung von Kumpf – Mikuli, den seltenen Kronenstempel ‚B‘ von Schweden oder der äusserst schöne Abschlag ‚PORT PAYE A ROME‘ des französischen Postamts in Rom auf Brief nach Toulouse (1770).

Bei den meisten Belegen handelt es sich um ausgesuchte Einzelstücke, die auf Auktionen, bzw. bei einigen der international bekanntesten Sammler erworben wurden. Die Provenienzen lesen sich wie ein ‚Who‘s Who‘ der grossen und bekannten Altbriefsammler:  Manfred Jacques, James van der Linden, Hans-Ulrich Sieber und Paolo Vollmeier.

Diese einmalige Kollektion mit vielen Hintergrundinformationen, Fotokopien und Arbeitsunterlagen eines ausgewiesenen Kenners seines Fachs, steht hier zum Verkauf! Das komplette Angebot kann nach Voranmeldung in unserem Büro besichtigt werden.

Für weitere Fragen stehen wir Ihnen jederzeit gerne zur Verfügung, entweder telefonisch oder schicken Sie uns einfach ein Email

Eine einmalige Gelegenheit - Verkaufspreis auf Anfrage